Do you guys stay in the same mode/key, or do you switch it up? Only scale I know is pentatonic minor, I know all the positions up the neck, but it does sound boring sometimes so I'll throw in some blues notes or some half steps to make it sound more minor or major at times. Is there something else I should be doing? Can I switch keys in the middle of a solo or would that sound awkward? I've been sort of stuck at the same general skill level for a while, I don't know how to improve my soloing. I've been getting better at hammers ons pulloffs vibrato etc etc but in general my sound hasn't changed much for awhile. I recently started learning more songs (got lazy for awhile) so hopefully that will give me new ideas.. but, yea, what do you think?
its a good idea to stay in key otherwise, amazing as your solos might be, will sound out of place and wont sound fitting although it is possible to switch to different keys, it something that takes more training as it requires a more trained ear and mind in theory so dont worry about switching keys for now. if your playing in minor keys use all the minor modes(dorian, aeolian, phrygian) to solo, if playing in major keys use the major modes(ionian, lydian, mixolydian) to solo. its really up to you how you use them though and what patterns you decide are best for whatever song your playing. IMO pentatonic can be fun to listen to and use, but at times can also be lacking, my advice is not to depend on it so much and try and explore different scale shapes! and as for physical betterment in playing, you know what im going to say...PRACTICE, try and practice all the major and minor scale shapes(modes) in the key of Cmajor to start as it is the easiest key to play in. once you learn your scales youll soon begin to see you can make patterns and licks using them also learning more cover songs couldnt hurt itll definitly help!
Originally posted by ICBMoscow
Hey I have a question... Iron Maiden is Considered metal right?