I know how to write music to a certain degree (as in about the first 5 frets..), but how would you write it, if, for example, it was at the top of the neck? Is there some sort of symbol or something?

Like if you wrote E(open), F(1), G(3), then how you you write E(12), F(13), G(15)?

On an unrelated note (ha, pun): Being a self-taught guitar player is hard.. but atleast it's rewarding!

EDIT: Also, off topic: What are octaves (I have a faint idea of what they are), and how can you tell them apart, like where do each of them start and end?
An octave represents different variations of the same note. The second fret of the d string is an octave higher (8 notes, 12 frets/half-steps) than open e.
i dont know about most guitarists, but i write in both the bass and treble clef.
So an open E, i write it in the bass clef staff, and a higher E, i write it in the treble clef.
And octaves are the same note, played on a higher pitch.
example
first fret E is the same note as 13th fret E.
Quote by leeb rocks
SO I'VE BEEN BALLS DEEP IN MYSELF THIS WHOLE TlME?!?!
It's very complex. Music theory is something that's best if someone else teaches you. Find a buddy who knows it or something.
just so i can get some clarity as well. if i played on the big E string fret 0, 1, 2, 3 is it correct to say that im playing in another octave when i play the notes on E string fret 12, 13, 14, 15?
or is that something different?
sorry or stealing the thread hehe :#
Ah, so every E is an different octave of the same note? I see.. Or should they be on a different string on, or close to the same fret as the original note? Example: It'd be better to have high E's G(3), and G(open), rather then High E(open), and E(12)?

Now that's cleared up, what about the writing high notes?
Last edited by Dog-- at Jan 28, 2008,
Quote by konkordmusk
i dont know about most guitarists, but i write in both the bass and treble clef.