Bear with me; this is a bit long winded.

I've been playing guitar for about 15 years. I'm an okay guitar player, but I fall short when it comes to solo passages that are very fast.

I've tried, at various times, to work on my speed with a metronome, but I think I must have flaws in my physical technique that prevent me from making progress.

I can pick fast - but there's no synchronization between my left and right hands when I do this. It seems like up to a certain slow speed I can keep the two hands synchronized, but to get to the next level of speed I flail, and that sounds like crap.

I've taken lessons before and watched instructional videos, and one constant that I've noticed is that quite a bit of time is spent showing what notes to hit, but very little time is devoted to describing the proper way to rest the pick hand, or the proper angle to place the fret hand, or the proper position for the thumb, etc. There are also a lot of discussions in various literature about "relaxing", but no one goes to any effort to describe proper hand positions/arm positions that enable proper relaxation.

Recently I've upped my practice schedule; I practice daily now because of an opportunity to start a band, and I've been analyzing my hand positions to see where my major flaws are.

First Problem: Pick Hand Pinky

I anchor my pinky on my pick hand. I don't like this, but the alternative feels even worse. The worst aspect of anchoring is that at certain angles, it forces pressure on my pinky which causes tension in my pick hand which prevents me from properly relaxing; all things that prevent me from improving.

I've seen various players who don't anchor, but do rest their pinkies on their guitar bodies (John Petrucci, for example). His pinky seems to glide effortlessly across his guitar body; it is not affixed to it and slides freely.