I'm in need of a new amp, and since ive been told tubes are the better way to go, Im looking for the best versatile tube amp. My price range is $1500 canadian but might go higher if worth it. I have an Epiphone Dot and play from Metallica to RHCP.

A specific model would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Btw, its an amp needed for band practice and gigging
vox ac30?

Whodicted

Quote by stevo_epi_SG_wo
france is laaaaame

Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2009
But will only 3o watts be loud enough for gigging? Sorry for the questions, I'm relatively new with amps.
yea, its a terribly loud amp

Whodicted

Quote by stevo_epi_SG_wo
france is laaaaame

Thanks for the reccomendation, but just to ask again to be sure, wil this amp suit my metal needs when on heavy distortion?
takes pedals pretty well, and even though i havent personally tried its metal abilities, a metal head friend of mine did and really liked it

Whodicted

Quote by stevo_epi_SG_wo
france is laaaaame

I don't think the AC30 is all that flexible unless you start putting pedals in front of it. That's just speaking from my very myopic position of spending a little while with one. I wasn't really turned on by it. Boogies in Canada are probably too expensive. What about ENGL? We don't really have them in the States, but you should be able to find them in Canada.
Hi, I'm Peter
Mesa Boogie Rectoverb.
- Fender, Taylor, Martin, Ibanez, Ramirez, Marshall, Boss, Morley, Mesa/Boogie, Univox, Shure, Monster, Dunlop, Seymour Duncan, DiMarzio, Lace, Sperzel, DW, Tama, Zildjian, and a little Johnnie Walker
The Switchblade is $1500(50w combo and head) the 100w combo is $1600 in America, don't know about Canadian.
4 channel, sounds really good, great distortion, pretty nice cleans, built in reverb, delay, flanger, tremolo, and chorus. All settings are stored on the MIDI controller(stores up to 128).