So, i'm new to the whole pickups thing and I've been wanting to mod my guitar a bit for some time now.
I'm planning on converting my HHH Epi Les Paul into a HSH by replacing the middle pup with a SD Phat Cat and i have a few questions.
1. What are two good humbuckers that I could replace my other pups with and will they work well with the Phat Cat? (preferably with gold covers, so it goes with the guitar)
2. In an HSH guitar, when you have the middle pup and one of the humbuckers selected, is one coil from the humbucker selected or both?
Quote by hell_monkey
So, i'm new to the whole pickups thing and I've been wanting to mod my guitar a bit for some time now.
I'm planning on converting my HHH Epi Les Paul into a HSH by replacing the middle pup with a SD Phat Cat and i have a few questions.
1. What are two good humbuckers that I could replace my other pups with and will they work well with the Phat Cat? (preferably with gold covers, so it goes with the guitar)
2. In an HSH guitar, when you have the middle pup and one of the humbuckers selected, is one coil from the humbucker selected or both?

1) It all depends on preference, just have a listen to some samples by respected brands or even better, try some guitars with them installed.

2) Depends on the wiring; although in pretty much every case it's just one coil from the humbucker.

Finally, what kind of amp do you have?

It's a waste of money and effort to change your old pickups with a cheap amp.
You've read it, you can't un-read it!
hmmm, vox AD, could do worse....

you can wire it however you want, with auto-splits etc. more if you'll drill it

what's your budget?
Get off this damn forum and play your damn guitar.
I'm not quite sure yet...i'd say round $300 or so? that's for all three pickups...I'm also thinking of buying a new nut and bridge...
Quote by hell_monkey
I'm not quite sure yet...i'd say round $300 or so? that's for all three pickups...I'm also thinking of buying a new nut and bridge...