Ok, so recently, I've been playing with lots of other guitarists, some bassists, and some drummers. I've been playing guitar for about 7 years now, and I know a decent amount of theory. When jamming, I'm noticing that a lot of the guitarists I play with can play leads and solos better than me. But not so many can hold a rhythm with the bassist and drummer, and when it comes to composing things, they have little to offer, so I end up writing most of it. So I am playing in the rhythm section most of the time. Now, I used to think that rhythm guitarist were boring and had nothing to offer to the band as a whole, but now I'm starting to get into it, and enjoy it more than playing lead parts.

Thoughts?
Thanks.
Quote by Portuguese_boy
(Progressive Metal is) like playing Nirvana, but faster, with little or no powerchords, cleanly, with more technique, and complex time signatures.

I think a good guitarist should be able to hold down rhythm just as well as he can hold down leads.

if a guitarist cant do both then they have alot of practise left. Im still in the practising for better leads.
yup i agree i know this guy who plays great lead guitar but when he palm mutes power chords it sounds pretty disgusting haha he isnt the greatest rhythm player... by the way whos that guy in your icon with the orange beanie? it's been bothering me haha i've seen it before
My Gear:
Epi standard les paul
Taylor 110 acoustic
Fender blues junior amp
Fulltone OCD
that guy is John Frusciante of the Red Hot Chili Peppers. And thanks for your comments guys.
Quote by Portuguese_boy
(Progressive Metal is) like playing Nirvana, but faster, with little or no powerchords, cleanly, with more technique, and complex time signatures.

Look at it this way.. without rhythm there is no band, but the band can be a band without solo's ;-)
As for myself i would rather be the guy that could keep it together and compose music rather then just know how to shred. So i would go with rhythm...