I've been playing for 4 years, reading music for almost 1, and I think its about time I had better timing. So I'm trying to play with a metronome for the very first time and it's really frustrating. It seems like it's wrong sometimes, which my teacher said can happen at first. Will I get used to this/did anyone else have this problem?

[also, if I'm doing 4 beats per measure and want to speed it up from 60 beats per minute, what should I set the bpm at? 90?]
you got soul, or so you say. hey, i say you don't!

Quote by Sol9989
Yeah it seems odd at first, especially with weird patterns but it will help in the long run. Just stick with it.

Also.. bpm means beats per minute so if you want 60 you should just set it at 60? Maybe I didn't understand your question... ?
"The sounds of the universe were joined together according to musical concord" -Plato

Quote by adamungar1
Don't quote me, but I think it's a requirement to pledge allegiance if you're running for president :S

myspace.com/musicartenergy
AIM: enmusicerartgy
Quote by enmusicerartgy
Yeah it seems odd at first, especially with weird patterns but it will help in the long run. Just stick with it.

Also.. bpm means beats per minute so if you want 60 you should just set it at 60? Maybe I didn't understand your question... ?

oops sorry, I meant the metronome on my computer is automatically set at 60 bpm, so if I want it faster than that but not as fast as 120 bpm, what should I set it to? I'm not really sure how that works and I don't want to make it something uneven or weird.

Quote by Sol9989
Change it to something you can play at. We can't tell you how fast you can play.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.
Quote by Clandestine1