I'm building a chapman stick because they're too expensive and I can't get one in the UK.

Anyway, I've looked at the specs and know what I need, but it's just the body... I did work experience in a guitar shop and worked on guitars the whole time, wiring pickups, refretting, that kinda stuff, but the only thing I didn't do, or witness - was how to make a body or anything like that.

Typically I can't find a chapman stick body by itself so I will have to make one myself, it's just I've never done anything like this before... could anyone help me? Just a step in the right direction would be appreciated.

If you don't know what a Chapman stick is, maybe this will remind you:
Body? I don't see a body... It's just a one-piece. Same as a neck-through neck, only there is no body to go through, and it is a lot wider.
Yeah sorry I mean like the base/neck. I have no experience of wood cutting or anything.
Quote by Morphox
Yeah sorry I mean like the base/neck. I have no experience of wood cutting or anything.
It sounds like you'd be getting in waaaay over your head, on something like this.
Meadows
Quote by Jackal58
I release my inner liberal every morning when I take a shit.
Quote by SK8RDUDE411
I wont be like those jerks who dedicate their beliefs to logic and reaosn.
Yeah, you might be getting in over your head.
Quote by corduroyEW
Cheap amps are "that bad". They suck up your tone like cocaine at Kate Moss' party.

I am Michael!
If you had the hardware and everything for something like this it seems like it would bea very straightforward one day build. I'd build one to show you how I'd do it but i honestly don't want one.

First off, I'd make it a 5 piece neck for stability. you'll want a truss rod or two and graphite reinforcement rods.

Just start by drawing up a normal neck through neck and go from there.
Any idea where you'll get the hardware?
Quote by Liberation
Every time I see your avatar I want to slit your neck with a butterknife. Goddamn Pingu.