Okie dokie. I've been playing acoustic, and pretty much only acoustic for like 5 years due to lack of a drummer. I had a trio kind of thing going on where I wrote song, played guitar, and sang...and they played lead stuff. Well we got a drummer, finally...so now we get to try new things. Problem, of course, is that my electric guitar gear is pretty beginner level. I have a Fender Standard Strat (the $350ish one. Mexican I think), a Fender Frontman 25R amp (quite small), and that's it.
I'm wondering where to go from here. 2 of the bands we get compared to the most are Thursday and Brand New, so I guess those would be the 2 whos sound we're most similar to. Anyway, the only distortion I get is from this little amp...and it's definitely nothing impressive. I assume (pretty sure) I'm going to have to get a bigger/better amp once we start gigging (we're going to write/record first), but I'd like to put that off as long as possible. I assume I'd have to get a distortion pedal at some point anyway....so do you guys agree that I should go ahead and get one and hold off on the new amp until it's completely necessary? Or do you guys think it's stupid for me to be playing through something this small.