I'm a total newbie to guitar. I've only been playing since christmas. My question is how long does it usually take a normal person to be able to switch cords without that nasty pause between chords. I'm familiar with A major, E major, D major G, C, and E minor.

I just hired an instructor that is doing a pretty good job. I practice almost everyday for about 45min to an hour. Are there any good exercises out there to help with this problem?

I practice switching from Chord to Chord slowly, but when I try to speed it up, thats when I screw things up.

What did you do to improve?

Thanks in advance!!!
During the first couple of months it'll take anything between 10 seconds and a minute to switch chords...it takes a while for your hands to click with what you want them to do.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
I've been playing for 7-8 months and I still do that - though not as slow as I did in the start Might have something to do with that I don't play chords that often, but it does take some time to learn.
ah the old days m8 it will all become natural get a metronome around 20 quid set it around 60 bpm every click change chords do some bar chords to give ya self head start :] GD LUCK
Practicing it over and over and over is the only way to really get this down. Once you know how to properly hold the chord the rest is repetition and endless practice. Eventually it comes.
Quote by Ryansb123
ah the old days m8 it will all become natural get a metronome around 20 quid set it around 60 bpm every click change chords do some bar chords to give ya self head start :] GD LUCK

SPELLING GRANNY!: barre chords

EDIT: i was bored
talk to your guitar teacher and have him show you chords that have common notes, for example Cmaj and Am. Gmaj to a Dmaj is also good.