In a song, do you tend to grip the pick you are holding tight, or loose?

In the song Thunderstruck by AC/DC, I plan to pick it out, because I don't think i'm ready for hammer-ons yet. I'd rather pick all of it, and that's that. I don't play on changing my way to play the song yet. I've been playing for 7 months, but I guess i'm doing okay, but I just need to know.

Do you grip the pick tight or loose, and how hard do you strum over the string? I'm talking about the B string, 'cause the beginning and intro parts of Thunderstruck are quite hard to do when I keep losing grip if I'm too tight and I miss strings and pluck other strings.
Depends for me....I usually keep a medium/tight grip but that's just me...I'm known to beat the **** out of my strings when playing. (I mostly downpick)
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
When I play the intro to thunderstruck, notably live, I put my index and middle finger over my G and E strings, so I don't accidentally hit one while I'm pulling off and hammering on.

In theory, with fast alternate picking, you should hold the pick lightly. You want it to give a little so it slices through the string without resistance.
Hm.. really? D: Alright. I'll try that..

But if I strum a little harder then actual a rich tone comes out and then it sounds whole.
It is fun playing Thunderstruck at double speed if you use two hand tapping. I think it would be much harder to pick every note than do hammer ons and pull offs; you would need to move a lot faster.
Whenever I hold the pick lightly while alternate picking it falls out of my hand. Whenever I hold the pick tightly while alternate picking I can't keep up with the metronome. Either find a balance or I'm taking the "there's no wrong way to hold a pick" advice on UG way too literal. (e.g. 3/4 of my pick is showing when I pick)
Quote by BigRudy