Hay UGers

Ive been tring to learn to sweep for over 6 months but havnt got anywhere. Could give some song with some simple sweep picking to help me? or some tip or link to lessons.
welcome home, by coheed and cambria
Proud member of r0k 4 Chr15t club, PM T3hRav3n/christianbassis to join.

The Rig:
Dean Icon
Cimar strat-copy
Ibanez GRX-40
Dean Edge-1 Bass
Digitech RpX400
Peavey Rage 158

Creater of Tuba players united, pm to join.
Heard of Dethklok? A lot of their stuff is full of sweep picking.
"Levelled up. Still no solos."
[img]http://sc2sig.com/s/eu/1405270-1.png[/img]
Canon Rock or Creeping Death by Metallica
Xbox Live tag: Dream Away Rain
Add!

Quote by marko'd
dont sweat how quick your progressing, i heard that Jimi hendrix didnt get his legendary guitar skills until he was dead

Quote by Dreadnought
+ MOTHERFUCKIN' 1
Quote by XxGibsonSGxX
I think there's a sweep picking section in "Arpeggios from Hell" by Malmsteen; albeit it being fast. it's easy to get the hang of, if you practice enough.

ah you mean the high e-string he plays and gives you a " " look right?
The sweeps in Canon Rock, hate me all you want, aren't too hard. They're set at a good pace, 16th notes at 200 bpm. Once you master that, if you want faster 3 string sweeps move on to some Rhapsody (of Fire) - Turilli has a lot of high tempo 3 string sweeps. If you're looking at more strings... well I can't think of one right now.

Also, keep in mind if you have some basic music theory knowledge, constructing sweep patterns and licks/riffs isn't very hard, as they're practically structured around chord shapes. Find a chord progression, sweepitize it, and practise it.

Later on, try your hand at Petrucci's solo in Dream Theater's Never Enough or MAB's Burn arpeggio section - both feature fragmented arpeggios, or 3-strings-at-a-time-but-over-6-strings licks (they're playable with hammer-ons, down the strings, up the neck, but that's marginally harder).