Basically I'm broke. I can't afford a good tube amp... so I thought it'd be fun to build one. I have some decent knowledge of electronics (I built a 27,000 volt electrohydrodynamic thruster for a science project ) but I haven't found instructions to build anything more than about 4 watts.

It'd be nice to have an amp I can use for practice and small gigs.. is it even reasonable to think I can build a 30-watt tube amp? Or am I just crazy?

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Solder fume huffer σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Electronic Audio Experiments
try searching for amp schematics. I know for a fact there's a website with every silvertone tube amp schematic ever made.
Quote by Sir-Shoelace
manliest string guage? barbed wire.

Founder Of the UG Slide Player's Guild, PM me If You're Really Feelin' Dem Blues

THE PIT
"better than your average psychiatrist"
Thanks a ton! Now I just have to find the components...

EDIT: actually, the site with the Mesa schematics says that they won't work for replicating an amp. Is that true, or is the site legally supposed to say that?

╠═══════╬═══════╣

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Last edited by stradivari310 at Feb 6, 2008,
try googling garnet amps..these were made here by gar gillies and he wrote a book called the whys and wherefores of amplifiers.....i am not 100 %on the title.....he made some really good amps back in the day and everyone and their dog here used them....from what ive heard the book is supposed to be a good source for neophyte amp builders....
Quote by s.r.v.
what amp do you want...i probably have a schematic for it

I just gotta ask now.... Where in the world did you come acrossed all them schematics?

i have my sources...

do you need one?
mostly schematicheaven and freeinfosociety, and some other one i forget the name of
haha just type in "Fender Bassman Schematic" on google u get to freeinfosociety site.
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.

Est. 2007