So ive been playing bass for about 3 months everyday, owned my bass since June, but it sat there gathering dust due to medical reasons, car was hit by a drunk driver and had a crush right hand, several brakes in my arm and ribs, ive regained 95% mobility in my hand and it should be completely fine by next June, I think one of the reasons my mobility is back is because of the bass playing forcing me to use my fingers and build up strength.

Im not completely hopeless at playing but ive seem to hit a wall, i can play though a few songs completely, with minor mistakes, Money Master of Puppets, The Trooper, various things by Black Sabbath, and the intro to Sweet Child o' Mine. But other songs are giving me difficulty. I cant seem to find the rhythm to play some of the songs at specifically songs with the bass mixed low. i was thinking of picking up a metronome to help set it to the songs BPM and play along with that to get use to the song. Is this a good idea or am i just wasting my cash on it?

Also im having a hard time using my ring finger in gallops, i can get triplets with two fingers fairly easily, are there anytips to getting the three finger gallop down?

And my last question is, what are some other songs with well defined bass lines you can hear durring the song, ive checked the Need a Song thread but it doesn't really specify this, i find these songs more enjoyable to play along to since i have a reference.

Thanks in advance for any replies and reading the Topic.
a metronome is always a must. other than that i dont know anything about bass.
I would recommend getting a metronome and some drum loops. Both are going to help you lock your timing. As a bassist, you are a vital part of the rhythm section and being locked in with a drummer as the invincible rhythm front is necessary. Beyond your bass and amp, I think its important that every bass player own a metronome/tuner and a good strap.