I've been playing guitar for about 12 years - nothing terribly seriously and nothing for a crowd. My current guitar is a Takamine EAN15C and I love it. The problem is that it doesn't satisfy my primal musical urge to rock (which I've been suppressing for some time).

Now's time for a new epoch and the acoustic side of me has died. Out with the Takamine (or rather to eBay I go) and in with the......... I have no idea. That's where you guys come in. I have been playing guitar this long and really know freakin nothing about electrics besides the weird feeling of the skinny assed neck when I hold one.

I'll be using it for Blues/Rock/Jazz (in order of importance). I'm sure most of you are going to push me toward Strat and that's what I'm leaning for, but I by no means want to buy a guitar simply because of a name or even how it looks. It could be a raw wood monstrosity as long as it was a good instrument for me that won't become increasing hard to play as I progress. I'll need an amp too an welcome all input on that front as well.

I plan on using all cash garnered from the sale of my acoustic for my new electric and amp - probably as much as $800 depending. Also if you can be as specific as possible, that'd be great. If you say "Strat" what model or year Strat? American made?

Again, I'm not sold on a brand or look.

Thanks for any and all help!

p.s. Yes, yes I know- I'll be playing anything and everything before I buy.
id go with an epiphone les paul, or some other type of les paul (classic, custom, ect). they would do pretty well with what you are lookin for. as for an amp, maybe a fender hot rod, vox or something along thos lines. good luck and enjoy!!
I would highly suggest a stratocaster or even a telecaster. I own a strat and I love it.
Although it might be out of your price range for amps, I would save up and get a peavy classic 30.
sigh...
Quote by guitar033