Page 1 of 2
What's the difference between say a G7 and a Gmaj7?

Thanks
Quote by csn00b
I hate seeing cute girls topless and what not, it just feels wrong.
G7 is a dominant chord. It has a root, third, fifth, and a flat seventh.

Gmaj7 is a major 7th chord. It has root, third, fifth, and seventh.
so Gmaj is 1 3 5 7

G7 is 1 3 5 b7

Gm7 is 1 b3 5 7

and are there any other types of seventh chords?
Quote by csn00b
Lot's of chords can be made that have sevenths in them. There are probably dozens. I'm not too good with chords, so I'm the wrong guy to ask here. I'm sure Arch or bangoodcharlotte will be here eventually.
Quote by jpgilbert701
so Gmaj is 1 3 5 7

G7 is 1 3 5 b7

Gm7 is 1 b3 5 7

and are there any other types of seventh chords?

Gm7: 1-b3-5-b7

Some others...

m7b5: 1-b3-b5-b7
mmaj7: 1-b3-5-7
alt: 1-3-(b5 or #5)-b7-(b9 or #9)
dim7: 1-b3-b5-bb7

In addition, just about any chord with an extension beyond a seventh (G9, G11 etc) has an implied b7 (unless the 7th is explicitly notated as major)
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
Quote by Archeo Avis
Gm7: 1-b3-5-b7

Some others...

m7b5: 1-b3-b5-b7
mmaj7: 1-b3-5-7
alt: 1-3-(b5 or #5)-b7-(b9 or #9)
dim7: 1-b3-b5-bb7

In addition, just about any chord with an extension beyond a seventh (G9, G11 etc) has an implied b7 (unless the 7th is explicitly notated as major)

maj7+ = 1, 3, #5, 7
min7 = 1, b3, 5, b7
ahh thanks for clearing that up guys.
Quote by csn00b
Quote by CowboyUp
bangoodcharlotte
Who the fuck is that?

Here is a list of every type of seventh chord I can think of. X is where the root note would be (so that first one could be Fmaj7, Gmaj7, etc:
Xmaj7 1 3 5 7
X7 1 3 5 b7
Xm7 1 b3 5 b7
Xm/maj7 (said "minor major seven): 1 b3 5 7
Xmaj7#5: 1 3 #5 7
X7#5: 1 3 #5 b7
X7#4: 1 3 #4 5 b7
Xmaj7#4: 1 3 #4 5 7
Xm7b5: 1-b3-b5-b7
Xdim7: 1-b3-b5-bb7