I did a search and didn't find anything so I'm sorry if this gets asked 100 times a week.

I'm trying out for this fairly established band in my scene. They gave me 10 of their songs to learn, I learned them all and we jammed tonight. I think I messed up about a thousand times, but I did manage to get a second audition, tomorrow night.

The problem is that I have really bad luck with bands (long story) so I don't have much experience playing with other musicians. I can get it right following the CD but when I'm the only one playing my part, it's soo much harder.

So I'm just wondering if anyone has any tips for playing with others, getting the timing right and such.
i only tip i can give is just get into the music, and forget that you are auditioning, and imagine it's just you jamming again.
Quote by Fusanti_RHCP
I have had no problems. Mostly because I am Jesus.
i was the same way, it took me a long time to get used to it. i was never able to get over till i started playing the style that i really liked. it may just take finding something you can really get into. and everytime you play with someone you get more used to their style and rhythm. time is huge too, just give it time.
Quote by deathpidgeon
yeah man, your probly focusing on them and not your guitar. just relax and do your thing

I think this man has it.
I plays guitars.
Sometimes the problem is that the CD gives you cues to the arrangement that you don't as readily get in a live situation.

I find when I'm learning a song that it helps to write down the arrangement. You'll make a better impression coming in with a notebook with notes written down and playing it right than you will coming in with no notes and making it apparent that you don't seem to know the arrangements.

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.