hi, ive been playing guitar now for almost 3 years and i am completely self taught. ive managed to get myself to the point were i can sit down and learn kick ass rock songs like GNR etc, learned many scales and started to put together my own songs, riffs, solos etc but i have come to a certain point in my playing.

i know that i have advanced pretty well and picked up a lot of stuff but i feel like i want to also take a different path. think of what ive done as reading a good action novel, its exciting and huge fun but i feel i need to get deeper into music as a whole, like instead of a good action book maybe pick up shakespeare, if you know what i mean. lol. and get into a whole different light and understand where music comes from.

2 questions now

1 can it be done without going to a guitar teacher

2 can anybody give me some pointers

i would love to really get in deep with the music and try acoustic/classical stuff like that, i know ive not really explained it that well but hopefully you get the point of it lol.

all the help would be gratefully appreciated

thanks
I would recommend a teacher, first and foremost, myself, as long as the teacher was a good teacher. If you take pride in the fact that your were self taught or whatever, that's fine, but it's okay to ask for help with something like music. The difference could be huge if you had a teacher. One thing that happens is you draw more influences and get better just because you're jamming with your teacher every week. That is, of course, if you have a good teacher.

Another advantage to having a teacher is you see where you're flawed in your technique and theory, provided that they know what they're talking about.