Hey guys, I'm new to the guitar-scene, and I'm planning on doing a little bit of spending for a new electric on Friday. I've been looking, and right now, there's a couple I'm looking at (before going to the store). Basically, there's a sale, and a couple of advertised ax's that seem like they wouldn't be bad for a beginner like myself. Right now, I'm looking at the Epiphone Les Paul Special II ($129 CAN), and the PRS SE EG S/S/H ($299).

Basically, I'm just curious as to what types of music they're used to play. I am going to play them both (obviously), see how I like the feel and such before shelling out any cash, but I've heard so much about the tone of Les Paul's and versatility of PRS's, so I'm just wondering what I can expect from them. At the prices, I don't think I can really go too wrong with either, though I'd prefer something like the PRS (I'm thinking, anyways).

Currently, I find myself looking up tabs for AC/DC, ZZ Top, Zeppelin, and things like that, along with some Nirvana and the likes. I do also enjoy playing through old classics such as "Take It Easy," and "Brown Eyed Girl." Eventually, I want to get into jazz & blues (which is where I went with my sax playing) once I can play a bit more than simple chord progressions and brush up on my theory.

I'm just learning to play, but like to have a variety in my hobbies (when I played sax, I played Tenor and Baritone, want to look at Soprano next, and I have 9 different R/C cars at the moment). I am a bit of an audiophile, and appreciate sound, so I know I should be looking at a new amp (sitting with a Frontman 15G currently , but please don't hassle me about that, I plan to upgrade that to something high-end come summer, when I have time to work again).