So I've been playing for about 4 years with out lessons. I'm better than most I would say, but not quite great. One way I could improve that I think is through my solos.

but the problem with that is that I feel stuck when I do. I usually just stick to the pentatonic scale in one spot, Usually past the 12th fret, I just don't know how to go up or down with out sounding really amateur. And I've always admired those who can just play up and down the guitar with leisure.

Is there a practicing technique i could use to overcome this problem?

Any constructive input would be very much appreciated.

"All Castles made of sand, slip into the sea, eventualy." - Jimi Hendrix
Your best bet is to learn the scales, I've also been playing for 4 years without lessons, but I know where to go on the neck. When you look at scales it'll eventually get to ya.
Jackson JS30RR
Epiphone Flying-V, Goth Series
B.C Rich Warlock
Line 6 Half - Stack Combo

Seriously, download all of Kristopher Dahl's videos on UG. Shred Masterclass will give you a lot of techniques to practice. Helped me immensely, and he's pretty entertaining.
TheBurningFish wrote:
I don't mean to generalise but I don't believe the average Coldplay fan is a massive musical theory nut.

FS/FT: Cort SP1 Stratocaster
Zoom GFX5 fx processor
Washburn BD40 amp
$100 each OBO
What you're looking for is exercises that get you thinking and working diagonally.... search the net for exercises that are diagonal in nature, starting with pentatonic since that's what you're used to....