well i have yet to introduce myself
hi my name is jared

ive been playing guitar for about 1 and 1/2 years to about 2 years somewhere around then

ive been reading this guitar book "fretboard logic se" volumes 1 and 2
ive been trying my best to understand each chapter fully and im on chapter 3 so far and i think im doing ok

the first chapter covers the 5 basic chords, C, A, G, E, and D, and from what i understand from those 5 chords, all other chords some how are based off of them,
it states that any of these 5 chords can be played anywhere on the fretboard by simply putting your index on the fret a step down, (or 2 steps depending on the chord)

but i was looking at some tabs earlier and it seems that an F chord is the exact same finger positions as the e chord in the first position

which would make it a e chord played in the f position? but would the chord still be an e chord?

the book is teaching me to name them off as in
"e chord f position" "e chord f sharp" "e chord g" e chord g sharp" and so on
is this correct? or does the chord have a whole new name once it changes position?
because when i ran into this i was stumped and couldnt even bother to finish learning the tab because it made me think i was being taught the wrong thing or am learning it wrong
Last edited by LeftoverJared at Feb 12, 2008,
the first chapter covers the 5 basic chords, C, A, G, E, and D, and from what i understand from those 5 chords, all other chords some how are based off of them,

it's only the shape of those open chords that the chords on a guitar are based on. if you barre first fret and play an E shape, it's going to be an F because it has different notes.
well, like the book said, the f chord is based off of the e chord. and that is because it is essentially just moved up one fret. you don't change any of the left hand finger positions.
you could also move it up to the third fret and that would be a g chord.
the book is right, all other chords are based off of c,a,g,e, and d.