Ok I have a Ampeg SVT450H 450W Classic Series Head. I have been playing it regularly for about 6 months. The other night after a gig a bass player from another band asked if he could use my amp, I said shure. Well at the bar he comes up to me and says your amp does not work. Well after trouble shooting (speaker/insturment cables,bases, cabs, everything but the amp) I found out it is my effects loop causing the problem. The amp works fine minus some slight buzzing when I have my pedals (boss tuner and overdrive) plugged into the effects loop, but does not work (no sound) when somthing is not plugged in to the effects loop.

I am going into the studio this weekend, and do not plug in my pedals in the effects loop so will my sound be effected when I plug into the Pre/post EQ XLR line out (will the sound register)? Also what do you think can be causing this problem with the effects loop? Help, I need this fixed, I have a 1 year warrenty but what will I use while it is getting repaired?
I bet the son of a bitch broke it, and just told you it didn't work
I dont think so, besides I never, ever play this amp without my effects pluged in to the effects loop, the last time was at the studio 15-20 days ago, and 1 time 2 months before that during practice. will it still work in the sudio? HELP!!!
I'm not really an expert on Ampeg, but you could contact Ampeg about the problem or take it to a shop and ask if they could fix it.
Quote by skater dan0
Damn you and your ninja-like modding
Quote by eaton1012
Don't let others use your gear.

+1

Youre fully within your rights to say "nah sorry mate", it's their fault for not having their amp and stuff.

Only time i've leant my amp out was to a rather hot girl bassist

If your amp doesnt work when theres nothing in the effects loop i think its because it thinks there is something in there!

Get a patch cable and put it in the FX loops (from the return to send) and it might work.

Gear:
Fender Standard Jazz Bass
Artec Matrix Pedal Tuner