...since January, I started playing July of last year and though I did alternate pick things like chromatic exercises, I'd economy pick them naturally. But I started working on strict alternate picking scales and stuff this year, it's second nature now, but I wanna speed up my downpicking for playing stuff like MoP and other Metallica songs. Do you guys/girls think if I did a half hour of downpicking 16th notes at a tempo I can handle cleanly (on the open low E, at 80 bpm) and strictly uppick 16ths at 56 bpm (I've done these each 5 min. straight, changing every 5 min. for 30 min. total, to build my endurance) that it'd interfere with my alternate picking development in a negative way?

After I did this little routine I thought up that night, I tried my hand at the "Bonded By Blood" main riff which is lots of galloping, which I always start my gallops with a downstroke, each individual gallop if you will, and it felt as if my picking attack was alot stronger, guess I warmed up real good, maybe that's it lol.
Originally Posted by SkyValley
yeah im a virgin but im also pretty good at things like ping-pong and drawing pictures of people playing water polo so it balances out
i am so sick of the Metallica Master of Puppets Bullcrap. If there is anything more ridiculous than picking in downstrokes. Oh yeah cool they can pick it in all downstrokes, they MUSt be good. Master of puppets is actually a great exercise for alternate picking, its got plenty of odd up strokes to practice.

pickign all downstrokes is the dumbest thing ive ever heard, by friggin metallica fans. I dont care im not THAT big a metallica fan to want to recreate their retarded style of picking.