i wouldnt call my self a noob at guitar... i've been practicing for a few years... probably won't sound like it based on this post...i'm very basic. so far i've just practiced on a basic squier and a basic fender amp. i have a distortion pedal and a wah pedal, but that's about as far as my equipment knowledge goes. before i go out buying a whole bunch of new stuff for my guitar, i want to know what i'm getting into. i wanna save out on buying the more expensive stuff (a new guitar and amp) for when i actually have the money.

okay, so here are the questions. providing links will be great if you dont feel like typing everything... the help is much appreciated.

and oh yeah, this isn't a "which brand should i get" or "which ____ is the best?" question. this is trying to help me gain knowledge on the equipment.

first of all: what are the pedals and equipment (again, not brand names) you think every guitar player should invest in? what will allow me to get the highest function out of my guitar?

Tubes: what are they? i had never heard of them until coming onto these forums... what is their function and what do they have to do with the amp?

Tremolo arm: do these only come on really expensive guitars? is there a way to get the same effect without the arm? is there something else i should know about these things (considering i've never played with/owned one)

pickups: what do they really do to affect the sound of my guitar? are they worth replacing? what will a really good pickup do vs. a not-so-good-one?

and kind of on a sidenote... how will buying a more expensive guitar help me? does it only effect the sound or does it make playing easier as well? is the sound difference noticeable?

and same with the amp...

i think that covers everything i wanted to know... sorry it's a lot. lol. thanks for the help and if there's anything else you think i should know please dont hesitate.

gracias
Quote by 06CardsChamps