hi, i just recorded a poor attempt at crossroads with my guitar>pedalboard>pc with realtek ac97 rack and am interested in your views as to sound quality.I am new to recording with a pc and would like to eventually record overdubs and drums,bass,etc.can anyone tell me of any good software(preferably freeware)that i could start with and what gear do i need any info appreciated.please check out my recording,it is in my mp3's in my profile.all criticism appreciated.
Use a bit less gain and a lot less reverb.

Good software includes Audacity (which is free), and the main ones to buy are Ableton Live 7, Cakewalk Sonar 7, Cubase 4 or Logic Pro if you're on a Mac.
ty ,i had thought i had far too much reverb and just slightly too much gain.i'll remedy that in future any advice on software for a beginner?
You should check out Acoustica's Mixcraft, which is free to use but there is a countdown on how many tracks you can convert to mp3. It is a very basic piece of software to compare with Pro Tools, but it is very user friendly and you can get some very good recording results. Here's the link - http://www.acoustica.com/mixcraft/.
As mentioned above, don't rely on reverb for volume. Pan right and left, and maybe throw it in middle too. I suggest putting a soft middle track with moderate reverb, and the left and right louder and on more reverb. Playing with reverb can also result in interesting results. Hell, I'm rambling.