Hey guys, listen I'm not a beginner, been playing for a while, but I've seen squire telecasters being played on line and they are really sick (clean and distorted). Which squire tele will be best for nice clean tunes and fairly heavy rock (no metal or anything). I'm trying to figure out why they are so cheap if some are as good as owners claim. what am i losing out on when getting a squire? can't i just get a cheapy and switch out the pups? Thanks! BTW: price isn't really an issue since i'm assuming none will run past 300.
I'd rather get a new or used Made in Mexico Fender Standard Tele. The pickups on Squiers are cheap, worth no more than $20 if that. Squiers sound decent clean but anything with gain it does not handle too well. Maybe the Tele's you heard people had upgraded pickups I dunno. You could buy a Squier Tele and upgrade it, but you might be polishing a turd. It depends on you and how much you wanna spend. I'd still rather go for a used Mexican Standard Tele if you can't afford a new one but thats my opinion. A used one would run you around $300 or so. You could look at some knockoff brands too and might be able to get a better deal, just be careful.
2003 Music Man Axis Pacific Blue Burst
Squiers aren't made as well, and they won't play as well... you may not notice at first, but after you play Fenders and Squiers enough you can really tell the difference. I'd spend the extra couple hundred dollars to get a Fender (even the Mexican ones are good, I have a Strat and Tele and they both play very well)
Quote by ams914