Do these types of pickups interfere with the tone of the guitar? Or, to state it in a different manner: stomp boxes that don't have true bypass come between the guitar and the amp. Passive pickups obviously do not, from what I have read and from my experience (they are, after all, the source of the signal). Active pickups: do they interfere with tone?

Thanks for your patience. I'm not an engineer and as I said in a prior post have no experience with active pickups. I'm looking hard at EMG's for my Schecter C-1 Plus. I'll be running them through a Peavey Classic 30 or potentially a Mesa F-30.
active pickups sound....verymuch like active pickups so....yes?

and why the hell would you run active pickups through the Classic 30?
Well, that's a really good point. I suppose that is why I am asking the question. I'm pretty sure I need a pickup upgrade on this guitar based upon my own ear and also what I read. Your point is well taken with regards to the actives in this case.
Quote by nonjonron
Well, that's a really good point. I suppose that is why I am asking the question. I'm pretty sure I need a pickup upgrade on this guitar based upon my own ear and also what I read. Your point is well taken with regards to the actives in this case.

are you asking about pickups having true bypass or something?
Im not understanding the question...
Gear:
Ibanez RG550 20th RFR
Traynor YCV50
Fender FMT HH Tele
Mesa Boogie 2ch Triple Rectifier
2 1x12 custom Theile cabs
ISP Decimator
Krank Kranshaft
Boss BF-2 Flanger
BBE Sonic Maximizer
I'm changing my pickups because the ones that come stock on the C-1 plus are rather dark and muddy. This is a common criticism of this guitar. That said, the guitar body itself is fine.