Hey!

I'm a self taught guitarist. I've been playing for about 3 years. I was wondering what I should be practicing because I realize I have made a lot of bad habits over time. Please tell me what to practice and how long!

Thanks!
Obama '08
What kind of bad habits are you talking about?

I'm a self taught guitarist too and your making me slightly paranoid that I've done something simular
Un demonio puro que controla su mente
Well, I don't use a pick and when I did take guitar lessons in the summer of '07 my teacher said I should use a pick a lot. And also when I play pinky always touches the pickguard and I just hold it there. I only feel like I have bad habits, no one has ever told me I have.
Obama '08
Quote by fizzypopgurl
Well, I don't use a pick and when I did take guitar lessons in the summer of '07 my teacher said I should use a pick a lot. And also when I play pinky always touches the pickguard and I just hold it there. I only feel like I have bad habits, no one has ever told me I have.

Hah. The pinky-pickguard relationship is called anchoring. There's a lot of debate about it really.

A lot of people frown upon it, but if you look around you'll notice most mega-shredders use it as a technique.

There's no right and wrong. We all have our own little quirks.
Quote by fizzypopgurl

Wait, it's a BAD thing to play without a pick?! There is absolutely nothing wrong with that! There are many guitarists who play without a pick.

As for the second part, I'm not really sure about that.

The thing I always like to say is that there is no such thing as bad technique, there is only playing a technique badly.
"I've been visiting a psychiatrist for some time now. He plays mind games. He asks things like 'do you masturbate'? and I say 'do you breathe?'."
Ozzy - 1975
theres nothing wrong with playing without a pick, im pretty sure mark knopfler uses his fingers, could be wrong though, and i know dave mustaine uses the anchoring technique so he knows what string he's on