alright, i think this is the right forum..
i am a guitarist looking for any bass, i need it for jazz band at school, BUT it doesnt need to be a jazz bass, i'd actually prefer a p-bass.

what do you think about the Mike Dirnt P-bass Squier on here?
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Squier-Mike-Dirnt-P-Bass?sku=513882

many others say they also like:
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Squier-Vintage-Modified-Precision-Bass?sku=519638

but i was also looking at this fernandez used and maybe upgrading some stuff
http://www.musicgoround.com/gear/inventorydetails.asp?id=604603

also, just for jazz band can i put a jazz pickup near the bridge of a p-bass and wire up a switch to it so i can switch from teh single to jazz pups, or would the jazz mount in the bridge position just suck tone-wise of a p-bass. thank you for any new suggestions!
Why would you prefer a P-Bass for jazz band?
In the bass chat:

<Jon> take the quote of me out your sig plx
<Jon> i hate seeing what i said around lol

Leader of the Bass Militia PM to join!

And now on BANDCAMP!

Officially the funniest member of the Bass Forum.
I say if you're going Squier, go Vintage Modified. The Dirnt is pretty decent too.

And you can use a Precision in jazz, Jazz pickups aren't designed solely for Jazz or Precision pickups for rock... you have a lot to learn before you start thinking about modding your gear.
And yet, to me, what is this quintessence of dust? Man delights not me: no, nor woman neither... nor women neither.
so that i can play it as a guitar good for punk and rock out of jazz band. and the teacher doesnt even know what a pickup is even though he has his doctrate (spelling)
ive modded many guitars, this is my first on a bass. so just leave it as a p-bass then, dont bother throwing a jazz in the bridge or anything?

im also open to any guitar suggestions