Ok, well after not playing bass since early December, i have decided to play again. Shortly after I started playing I realized why I loved the instrument. I am fairly decent. There are still many things I would like to learn in bass techniques and music itself.
I know a few people that are great at guitar and in my music class (we learn about passed bands and styles of music than once a month we play to the decade that we're studying) I always hear them just jamming and showing eachother new stuff they've created and it sounds great. Then they get into the technical names as of major and minor penatonic, chromatic, modes, arpeggios, ect., and I get confused about "What distinguishes between each?" I've tried asking, but they themselves don't know and just play with the knowledge itself and just memorize music.

I am aware of keys, I know the whole whole half set up to the keys, and I know that arpeggios are chords that the notes are played one at a time instead of simultainously. And the chromatic scale is every note, like the chromatic scale of E would be everything from E open to 12th fret E.
(i could be wrong.)

But are theyre any tricks to remember what is a major or a minor penatonic? I've heard the "one sounds happier and the other one sounds like deep and depressed." kind of explaination, but to me it doesn't work.

What exactly is a mode?
I get confused about all the different termonologies how to distinguish between the two.

If there is any other information that is considered "YOU MUST LEARN THIS!" just let me know.
Thanks to anyone that could help.
I know minimal music theory. I find it easier to write songs in my head, where i know it will sound good, and then transfer it onto the guitar. There is nothing that you NEED learn really, well thats what I think.
its kinda hard to distinguish by ear, unless you have perfect pitch. If you learn the modes, you can distinguish by looking at music