Just got a Fender Strat off eBay and the bridge is leaning forward as if the whammy bar is being used (see the pics below). And when I put the whammy in the guitar it's just way to close to the body to use it normally. The guitar seems to play just fine, but should I really do something about this? And how much would it cost to fix it or get a new setup for it? I paid $300 for the guitar, by the way.

http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/6213/1056591ae8.jpg
http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/3049/1056592sb7.jpg

And I just started playing guitar around 8 months ago so I don't know that much about parts and stuff.

Thanks.
Just use a lighter gauge string or get another spring in the back of your guitar, it's fine
Proud member of r0k 4 Chr15t club, PM T3hRav3n/christianbassis to join.

The Rig:
Dean Icon
Cimar strat-copy
Ibanez GRX-40
Dean Edge-1 Bass
Digitech RpX400
Peavey Rage 158

Creater of Tuba players united, pm to join.
Mine does this as well, it's a floating bridge. I like it - though, mine doesn't do it as much as that. Just a little bit.
take off the back panel of your guitar screw the screws holding the bridge in place inwards it will couter ct the strings do it and keep retuning untill it is paralell with the body
Btw you don't have to change it at all, unless you dislike it.

Double edit - take it to a shop, don't **** with it yourself if you want to change the bridge.
Some people like it, I think Stevie Ray Vaughn has his bridge set like that.
You do lose tuning stability as the bridge is technically floating.
If it's bothering you, open up the back of your guitar and tighen the spring claw in the back cavity, you may also have to loosen the screws holding it in place (BUT ONLY VERY SLIGHTLY!).

Hope this helps.
Main Gear:

Santiago S3 Spanish Classical
PRS CE22 Mahogany
Mesa/Boogie F-50 combo w/ G12K-100
Teese RMC Wizard Wah
Rothwell Switchblade
Ibanez FL-9
Visual Sound Liquid Chorus V2
EHX SMMwH