Being swamped with more guitars than I can count for blues and every kind of rock you can name, I figured it was about time I finally got something a little more metal-orientated to mess around with. Problem is I'm used to looking at £800+ guitars, but at the moment, I've only got a couple of hundred to spare. I'm somewhat in foreign territory.

My limits, and things I need:
- £300 is about my maximum price, if I really have to. I'd rather not spend any more than £250 though (including the cost of changing pickups if need be). If it comes down to a choice between two or more guitars, the cheapest is always going to win for me. This isn't going to be a serious, often used guitar anyway. You might as well just assume I'm a total newbie.
- I'm open to mahogany, alder and basswood for body materials. I'd really rather not touch anything else though.
- Floyd Rose style trem. Not an Edge III though. Licensed FR is fine to me.
- Humbuckers in both the bridge and neck. Single coils in any position are pretty useless to me.
- 24 frets.

Things I don't mind:
- fretboard can be any material and fret sizes don't bother me.
- neck profile doesn't bother me.
- bolt-on necks are fine by me. In fact I'd rather have bolt-on than set (though of course neck-through beats all).
- I don't care about having a middle pickup or not.
- I'd rather have passive pickups, but I could live with actives.
- Maple body tops are okay, though not required.
- Super-strat style would be preferred, though I am open to other styles so long as it's double-cut and not too spikey-death-blade-metal-RAWR-whatever. V's and X-plorer shapes are definitely out of the question though.
- I'd rather not get an Ibanez unless I have to. I've just never been at all impressed with their build quality.
- I'm open to buying used or B-stock guitars, though I'd rather not if I can help it.

As far as amps, pedals and so on go, I've got everything you could name, so just assume I've got good enough gear for anything.