Hey guys. I'm relatively new to the bass, I picked up the listed equipment a couple months ago, and tooled around a bit. I took a break because of life, but I've got my callouses back and I want to get serious again.

I read the FAQ, but have some questions of my own, mostly regarding hardware.

So I've got the following:

-Ibanez SR300FM
-Peavey 20 Watt, 10" Amp/Speaker (it's recommended in the FAQ)
-I plan to get Rotosound strings in the near future

And so my queries

-My bass comes with active pickups and a treble/bass booster. I can also switch between two pickups, one makes my sound twangy, and one gives it a bit more 'oomph'.
-My Amp's equalization is set in Low, Mid, and High, but goes from 0 to 10. Not sure if this matters, but...

How do I use these to get the sound I want?

Ideally, I want to get a sound similar to that of Geddy Lee's. I think the Rotosound strings will help a lot - the strings I have on there now are the ones that came with the bass, and probably suck.

In some of his interviews he mentions that he tends to make his sound have 'a lot of bottom and a little bit of crunch'. What does that mean in terms of EQing? Obviously I won't be able to get an identical sound, because he probably has high tech equipment.

So, any ideas? I'm still pretty new, and I want to know what I'm doing with both the hardware and the playing. The playing is going fine, but the hardware, not so much.
How old are the strings on there? I bet some rotosounds would be a vast improvement!
well for a lot of bottom you want to turn the bass control up, play on your neck pickup; which is probably the oomph one, and for crunch that is usually the sound of overdriven tubes, but for that you might want a bass overdrive pedal