Well, i've been playing for 2 years now.
So now i'm gonna buy a new guitar (I've been using a beginner guitar pack thing...).
And i was thinking about the telecaster, is cheap and nice.
I play rock most of the time, but i don't know...i'm still unsure, cause i'd buy a les paul, but the lp is like 2 times expensive.
So...what do you thing, what should i buy? D:
Some people say Teles don't have such a wide range...i beg to differ. I was actually at this battle of the bands once, and some metal band came out and the dude was rocking a mexican tele.

My first ever guitar was a Tele, stuck with it for quite a few years, never did me wrong. Great for blues and rock, not as versatile as other guitars but still a worthy lady.

Now i've moved onto a Gibson LP and i'm in love with it. Comparing the two, though...the tele's got a slimmer neck. The LP's strings are slightly closer together. Because the tele's neck is unfinished, i can go slightly faster...but i find the tone on the LP more attractive, making up for that tiny loss of speed.

If you're worried about the price, the tele will work for you. What kind of music do you play anyway? Have you looked at other guitars?
my first guitar was a tele copy. i really like it.u can play blues and rock and if u want metal just put thicker string on it.but i like my les paul a lot more.its waaaay more massive but i just love the thicker neck
Just go to your music store, and try everything, even the expencieve models.
Then you know what you like to play on.
Then look if there is something what suites you budget, and think.

I wanted to buy an les paul, but I got out with an much cheaper Ibanez.
Because I liked it more then an les paul to play.

Don't go for the looks, go for the feeling.
Its the only tip I got for you.

good luck
and greetings from Holland =]