Hello there.

I've been learning bass for about 8 months although not particularly religously on a crappy Jazz bass knock off. When I compared it with my bass teacher's actual Fenders etc. the difference in weight and playability was frankly depressing. The E will also not stay in tune relative to the rest of the strings (the intonation along the string is terrible) and so I've decided I want to upgrade to a better bass. I also need a cheap bass practice amp.

So basically, recommend me a new bass and a cheap bass amp! Preferably under £500 for the bass and under £200 for the amp. I really like Fender Jazz basses but I'm open to other things e.g. Ibanez. Also quick question, how much different are 5 strings to play? I was wondering if using the B string as a thumbrest affects how easy it is to hop between strings compared to between E and the pick up.

Should probably say what I play, well on bass I almost exclusively play Muse though I don't have any effects, also looking into learning various Billy Talent and Say Anything bass lines and I really like the tones of those bands *expects flameage*

Cheers anyways.
Quote by guitars93
I haven't actually used any of these, but they seem pretty good.

How do they seem good then? On what basis can you recommend something you have no experience of?
Quote by Jimmyninja
So basically, recommend me a new bass and a cheap bass amp! Preferably under £500 for the bass and under £200 for the amp.

It should actually be switched around.you need to have a better amp than bass, because thats where most of your tone comes from.You can get a decent(used) fender jazz for arond 350 pounds and a good carvin amp for about 400 pounds.

Amp- https://www.carvinguitars.com/products/single.php?product=SBX210

or for a little more https://www.carvinguitars.com/products/single.php?product=SBR610
...it was bright as the sun, but with ten times the heat
Quote by smb