i have been playing for a few years and would consider myself alright. i started out on a squire strat and feel its time for an upgrade, would like to stay in the 1000 range or lower, i have done some research and here are the guitars i have read good reviews about.

ESP EC 1000
ESP eclipse II
Epi elitist standard
or a higher brand rg ibanez

i cant say i like the ibanez so much because i like a thicker meatier tone
i like to play metallica iron maiden stuff to newer metal thrash stuff but would still like some versatility for rock

any help
guitar shopping gotta love it yet soooo many chioces
the eclipse is versatile.

The higher end RGs with HSH pickups are extremely versatile
Its up to you
Not to be a fan boy, but also look into a schecter I've never played any of the ESP's you mentioned, but the ESP F series is really great for hard rock/metal, also look at one of those, and for the Epi, I'd try to aviod it, just because I've heard that the quality of an Epi is not really that great, as for the Higher end Ibanez models, Stay away from any of the RGT models, because they use the Edge III tremalo bridge, made from softer metals, it wears out after a short time and wont stay in tune The schecter I bought is the S-1 Elite, and its great for any type of music I play. and was just under $900 hope that help man
Quote by SharpSpoon
I think I can safely say I would still bang her knowing this information.

Lmao ^

Grundy0 > Cancer!
Eclipse across the board
我会关闭我的耳朵,和我的心; 我会变成一个石头
"I will close my ears and my heart and I will be a stone"
I'd go with the Eclipse for versatility and quality, but if you play a lot of lead stuff I suppose the RG's are the way to go.
Quote by schecter_r0cker
and for the Epi, I'd try to aviod it, just because I've heard that the quality of an Epi is not really that great,

Epiphone Elitist > many Gibsons