My VJ is now Fender voiced. However I decided I wanted it to be a bit cleaner but also have an option for abit more gain/drive. So I looked around and poked around with the schem. I decided to use R6/R7 seeing as they act as a voltage divider. So I started playing around with R6.

I finally decided on my resistor values, 1.2M and 320K. 1.2M for the Fender side....etc. I select between the two using a DPDT (On-On). That's all cool....I decide the Fender side needed a bit more sparkle and highs, so I added a 250pF cap in parallel to the 1.2M resistor. It works, sounds nice. I might add a switch later to disconnect it.

Anyways on the Marshall side with just a 320K resistor the sound was pretty flat. A good amount of gain but kinda boring. I decided it needed tight bass and more mids like a real Marshall. So taking Mr. Carrot's advice I wired a 1000pF cap in parallel....Yikes way too much treble. So I started increasing the value progressively.

I am currently at 0.22mF and it is still pretty sharp and trebley. But now I have a grounding issue it seems. There is a lot more noise and buzz. It just kinda started happening. Also when I touch the switch or another switch (the other switch isn't even wired) the noise goes away.

So I guess what I am asking is where did the hum come from and how do I get rid of it? I have a few ideas but I am curious to what you guys have to say. Also what value should I try for the Marshall side for tight bass and mids?

Thanks...
Without knowing what the hell R6/R7 are, I'd guess that you've got a crappy solder joint somewhere. You should redo them.
Quote by kurtlives91

So I guess what I am asking is where did the hum come from and how do I get rid of it?
I'll guess the noise was already there, but you're making it more noticeable with the bright bypass on R6.

Quote by kurtlives91
So taking Mr. Carrot's advice I wired a 1000pF cap in parallel....Yikes way too much treble. So I started increasing the value progressively.