Hello, Im a noob but really interested in what kinds of overdrive/ distortion pedal to get. Im looking for the Eric Johnson kind of tone or Joe Satriani type. I already own the Boss MT-2 and that thing is trash. What kind of gear are you rolling? Which should i get?
this should be in the guitar gears and accessories forum.
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.

Est. 2007

Source to everything I say about Guitars, Pedals, and Amplifiers: I make them.

UG's Best DIY PedalBoard
MT-2 is a good start.... awesome and less than 100 American...
Quote by Duff_McGee
Everyone knows that the day the Metallica ends, the world ends.
Quote by joshua029
MT-2 is a good start.... awesome and less than 100 American...

its ok but, its to grungy and heavy for me. Im looking for a nice clean crisp distortion. Any suggestions?
I would reccomend these pedals:
Boss BD-2 Blues Driver
Boss SD-1 Super Overdrive
and the defacto OD pedals:
Ibanez TS-101
Ibanez TS-9
'11 Gibson LP Jr.
'07 Gretsch 5120
'69 Tele
'10 Godin 5th Ave. Kingpin
'03 Blueridge Dreadnought
'02 Custom Martin D-28
Premier Twin-8
Fender Hot Rod Dlx
Boss SD-1
Quote by Ranger01
I would reccomend these pedals:
Boss BD-2 Blues Driver
Boss SD-1 Super Overdrive
and the defacto OD pedals:
Ibanez TS-101
Ibanez TS-9

i second the blues driver!

wat kind of amp do you have?
Traynor YCV50 Blue
epi les paul w/ SD Alnico II pros
Dunlop Slash Wah
EH Deluxe Memory Boy
Moen Jimi Vibe
Danelectro Cool Cat Fuzz
Zvex Vexter Fuzz Factory
VHT 2x12 w/ V30's
didn't read, you said the MT-2 is trash? what?
Quote by Duff_McGee
Everyone knows that the day the Metallica ends, the world ends.
it really depends on your amp. You could have the best guitars and pedals available, but with a crappy amp, it'll still sound crappy.
With a decent tube amp you can usually use the drive on the amp to get th tone you're looking for.