I've been learning for 5 months now and since the beginning I've found it easy and pain-free to play a 2 string power chord with fingers 1 and 4.
At fret 7 and up I can easily reach with fingers 1 and 3 but I always had trouble and pain in my wrist trying to stretch from fret 1 to 3 and 3 to 5 using fingers 1 and 3.

So I figured I would do what felt the most comfortable because I read in several places that fingering isn't set in stone - do what works for you.

Now, I'm learning a cool blues riff where you play on the 5th string at frets 2, 4, and 5. (2-4....2-5....2-4) I really gotta do my stretches before my fingers will reach while keeping finger 1 anchored at fret 2......and even then I still have to work at reaching.

If I play this riff too much, my wrist starts to hurt. I had similar pain in the beginning while learning regular chords, but that went away after a few weeks of practice and rest.

Am I correct to assume that this pain and difficulty in reaching frets will eventually go away with practice, patience, and proper rest?

Has anyone else experienced this same situation?

Does anyone else play 2-string power chords with fingers 1 and 4?

Thanks
Don
I play my power chords the same, even though I have no trouble at all playing them with one and 3, I just think it looks cooler.
Wrist pains will go away over time, you just have to persevere but don't overdo it otherwise you could injure yourself.
Xbox Live tag: Dream Away Rain
Add!

Quote by marko'd
dont sweat how quick your progressing, i heard that Jimi hendrix didnt get his legendary guitar skills until he was dead

Quote by Dreadnought
+ MOTHERFUCKIN' 1
The pain could go away but it could also damage your wrist. Make sure you don't have your guitar slung low, that will help, and yes I mostly play 2 stringed chords with 1 and 4.
Do you use a BR-600?
If so, click here to join the group thats made for you!
playing them that way will inhibit your playing, as most powerchords span over 3 strings such as: