I have a few friends that have been playing guitar, in between the 1-3 year range, and I have been playing for 3 months. One of them tells me that he learns a new song everyday. I am kinda mad because I can't do that, I don't understand how he does it. I end up trying a song and practicing it for a while. Like right now I am working on Back In Black by AC/DC. I've learned the main riffs, and I want to learn the solo very badly so I have been working on it for a week, and having a hard time with it still, but I am slowly learning it, and I just really don't understand how my friends learn so quickly. Should I just stop trying this solo if I cant handle it? I also feel the need to learn as much songs as I can, and push myself, because ever since my friend said this to me "Oh I have been playing for 1 year and I know like 1000 songs maybe more!".

Does it really matter how many songs I know, and does it also matter if take my time learning songs and solos? I'd really like to know what I should do.
Last edited by Kash1333 at Feb 21, 2008,
The solo of Back In Black after 3 months, it's possible but will be very hard I imagine. Don't worry about it, you will get faster, it's just time and practice. And it doesn't matter how many songs you know, it's good to learn lots of different songs, but scales and modes are just a important if you ever plan on writing.
Learning the whole song isn't as important as getting the key techniques down. When your friend was at 3 months I really doubt he could play that solo either. I've been playing a year and half and I still can't play it (I probably can but its too much effort to learn :P).
Don't worry about the solos for the moment if they're too hard. For some easier ones, try Smells Like Teen Spirit and American Idiot.
Xbox Live tag: Dream Away Rain
Add!

Quote by marko'd
dont sweat how quick your progressing, i heard that Jimi hendrix didnt get his legendary guitar skills until he was dead

Quote by Dreadnought
+ MOTHERFUCKIN' 1