So my friend recently sold me his Yamaha something or other and crate gfx30 amp for £40, which in my opinion is a great deal, considering some of the stuff he can get out of the equipment and because he paid £350 or so all together.

The guitar has neck and bridge humbuckers, with a single coil in between, a 5 way selector switch thing, and one volume and one tone knob.

I'm wondering if anybody is able to tell me what sort of things I should do to get a certain type of tone out of my gear. Like, to get a rough metally sound use whatever pickups, such and such a tone and whatever sort of settings on the amp (how high gain or shape of distortion, or whatever sort of clean sounds).
I know it will all be down to preference, and that it's not going to be possible for someone to say that if I use whatever settings then I'll get exactly this sound, but because I'm new to the (electric) scene, I'd like it if somebody could help me, please.

Oh, and my amp has the following knobs -

Under distortion there's gain, shape and level.
Under clean there's level, high, mid, low.
Under the category 'dsl' (whatever that is?) there is level and another one saying 'mode' with 'delay, flange, chorus, chorus + reverb and reverb' around it.

If anyone can tell me what sort of settings I should be using for a certain style then that would be great.

Oh, and if anybody could explain what the different settings such as 'delay, chorus' and whatnot which I have listed actually do/mean then that will be great, too. I have been playing about with them, but can't really tell what they're doing (I've been listening with some rather rubbish headphones, since my younger brother's revising).

And also, on final question. Which would have a higher tone, a sort of harsh sound or a more mellow, mushy sound? (my tone knob doesn't have any sort of scale or anything).

Thanks alot, if anybody can help me then I will be eternally grateful.