Howdy. So I recently got a few friends together who are all somewhat musically talented. Actually most of us are in our first or second year of playing our instruments... so we're not really fully educated on the subject of gearing up for shows.

Right now I have a Epiphone Les Paul Standard, a Line 6 Spider III 120(Yeah I know, I've heard), the FBV express board, and some crappy wah pedal and that's about it.

Basically, I want to know... will my guitar be good enough to do gigs with? What amp should I pick up to replace my practice amp? I'm not too big on effect pedals, maybe a little wah so I'm good on that end.

I'm a college student who works only about 20 hours a week... so my budget isn't in the thousands. We play hard rock/alternative rock type sounding. On my line 6 I use the metal setting and the crunch setting mostly to give an idea of what sounds I like with my amp.
If you want a "metal" tone, truth is, you'll never get a good sound under a budget. Cause all the low-end solid state and "hybrid" Marshalls suck complete a$$hole. However, if you can get a good clean amp that's not too expensive (Roland Jazz-Chorus for example) and a decent pedal, you might be ok.
Well what I would do is go onto www.craigslist.com and browse for marshall, b 52, fender, or if you're lucky enough an orange amp. you'd probably want about 50 watts+ for a tube combo or half stack. the Vox valvetronix line is worth checking out as well, although you may or may not want an added distortion pedal to get that extra oohmpf.
Gear:
ESP Eclipse 300
Jackson RR3
Bugera 6262 head
Trace Elliot straight cab
Boss NS-2
Boss DD-3
Lastly, don't get suckered into build-in effects and built-in multiple distortion effects, most of those amps suck a$$ too
I was looking at a Peavey ValveKing Half-Stack as something I might purchase. I can't find any decent reviews from places that don't actually sell them. Basically no where from places I can trust.