So I've been playing my American Deluxe Strat for about 3 months now, and I love everything about it except that I can't always get the pinch harmonic sound I want out of it.

I mostly play SRV, Hendrix, and Zeppelin, but I am becoming increasingly interested in metal like Pantera.

My question is, would buying a replacement pickup for just the bridge slot fix my problem with pinch harmonics and give me more of the tone I want in a Cemetery Gates and other metal songs?

I would rather not replace all of the p/u's partially because of how much it would cost and partially because I really like the tone of the neck and middle p/u's.

Would the S-1 switching system complicate any pickup changes I would want to make and would this even be a good decision to begin with?
Quote by pmeg568c
oh man, seems as though i totally forgot about anal

My Gear
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster
Fender Standard Strat
Boss ME-50 Multieffect
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
I would not touch the MIA dlx. If you are getting into metal, just go after a decent metal guitar. Schecter is a guitar company that makes a bunch of different guitars utilizing active EMGs. Try them out for size.
A humbucker *should* do the trick. Look into other pups aswell, like Seymour Duncan etc... they may go better with your stock ones.
if you do go for a different guitar, try deans. what dimebag played and you an get them with EMG's as well, or ESP
Proud member of r0k 4 Chr15t club, PM T3hRav3n/christianbassis to join.

The Rig:
Dean Icon
Cimar strat-copy
Ibanez GRX-40
Dean Edge-1 Bass
Digitech RpX400
Peavey Rage 158

Creater of Tuba players united, pm to join.
Quote by icon_player_5
if you do go for a different guitar, try deans. what dimebag played and you an get them with EMG's as well, or ESP