Howdy y'all,
I'm living in Cork in Ireland and am wondering what the best electric guitar option for me is.
I've been playing the acoustic guitar for about two years and am at an alrightish level of skill with it.
Musicwise, I'm interested in rock-type things, but not uber-heavy metal stuff. Favourite band's Muse, but I have no illusions about being able to play as amazingly as Matt Bellamy. Other musical influences would be The White Stripes, Arcade Fire, Blink 182, Franz Ferdinand, Green Day, The Hives and The Red Hot Chili Peppers.

I'm not actually looking for someone to decide which guitar is right for me, but I'd appreciate some advice as I don't know anything about electric guitars and felt a bit swamped by all the indepth articles about pickups and tremolo bars.

Any information I get on this will be a help, so please help out.

Merci buckets.
For those types of music i'd have to say a fender strat or telecaster...but a les paul is never a bad idea,well,usually never a bad idea
Best thing to do is make sure you have a decent amp first. Order a Blackheart little giant from Sound Control or Thomann.de It is a superb little amp for the price and will suit your tastes perfectly. Also you will enter the elite cult of VALVE AMP OWNERS so you can become a tone snob straight away! DO NOT GET A MARSHALL MG OR AVT/VALVESTATE, LINE 6 SPIDER, OR BEHRINGER . Regardless of what anyone says, these are the worst amps available today, and it would probably be safe to say that more or less any cheap no name or budget brand solid state amp is worth avoiding like the plague.
As for guitars, what is your budget?