Page 1 of 2
So there's this song in the key of G. The chords being played are E5 followed by C5. The guitars are tuned down a half step.

Now...I thought I be able to solo over this using the G minor pentatonic (original, I know ), since it's in the key of G. This would mean the type 1 box would start at the root note, G, at the 4th fret, e string.

However, it sounds awful.

What am I doing wrong?

Play a Cort ?

Play with V-Picks ?

Every minute is to be Grasped........................................................................Time waits for nobody.

Try picking the right scale. How did you come to pick G minor?
The "Popped Collar" Award(Sexiest)
Elvenkindje

The "Rest In Real Life" Award(Best Past MT Mod)
Elvenkindje
The guitars are tuned down therefore the root note you are starting on is different, could that be it?
How do arrive at picking a 'correct' scale?

Sorry, I'm a noob at theory...

EDIT-

Here's a screenshot.

Play a Cort ?

Play with V-Picks ?

Every minute is to be Grasped........................................................................Time waits for nobody.

Last edited by Volta_91 at Feb 23, 2008,
Quote by pepsi1187
and if your playing E and C.. then why are you playing G.

Maybe because its in the key of G
If you are playing E and C its in Eminor or Gmajor...and the 4th fret is a Gsharp..so u would need to start on the 3rd fret...
This is a lie...no reason why...right from the outset
Quote by Bigdave9576
If you are playing E and C its in Eminor or Gmajor...and the 4th fret is a Gsharp..so u would need to start on the 3rd fret...

Tuned half step down.

Play a Cort ?

Play with V-Picks ?

E minor is exactly the same scale positions as Gmajor..dont listen to that guy.....u just have to resolve onto different notes
Yeah but your rhythm guitar is also tuned half a step down no? so u dont need to compensate for it with the lead guitar
4th fret would =G and 5th would b G#
My Gear:
Jay Turser Warlock
Baraccuda Strat
Takamine EG523SC