Page 1 of 2
I have a really big question to ask you guys, should i learn music theory? My guitar teacher said that after i learn triads i will be able to learn music theory. I have been playing guitar for about 9 months and i have been taking lessons for 9 months. i usually never practice what my teacher tells me to practice (except scales, , chords and stuff). I just mess around on the guitar for hours. I learn most of my songs by ear, and i knew about triads before my teacher taught them to me. ( i just didn't know what they were called). I have asked my family if i should continue guitar lessons and my sister said if i would like to be a musician i should continue and learn theory. But i think i already know some theory i just don't know the names. for example i know that an open eadg or b string is the same on the 12th fret. i think those are called octaves or something.

Anyway enough about me, i just want to know two things:
What is the point of music Theory?

Should i continue taking lessons and learn music theory?
Also are there any musicians who dont know music theory, besides hendrix?
learn an alot of theroy. it is what i do and it makes your playing alot more interesting.

pretty much just learn some,
Quote by rodyrdz
1. to make your own music
2. of course

I already make my own music, like when im at school i'll hum something, like a guitar riff or solo, to myself and keep it in my head all day and then i'll make the hum sound like a guitar and then I'll play it by ear.
yes, i see theory as being essential to playing guitar
it takes no skill to accidently stumble across a riff.
theory allows you write your own

There are a couple of legitimate answers to this question, but the all inclusive one would be "to communicate."

In short...