hello all I am a gutar newbie and play my acoustic 99% of the time... I've only been playing for a number of weeks, but I have a pretty big concern.

I learn and play most stuff on the acoustic b/c I like the way acoustics sound and I don't have to deal with the amp and stuff. I can just pick it up play a little, and set it down. Sometimes though I'll pick up the electric which is a squire strat (my acoustic is a "starter pack" acoustic made by peavey) I can hardly play the chords. the neck is thinner which is fine with me, but the strings are also closer together which causes me to accidentally mute the string next to the one im trying to fret. i

s this something I should take care of now by playing the electric more? should I keep playing acoustic since I like it and take care of THIS later? are all electrics like this or just this particular one? is this a common problem and will it fix itself once I become decent at playing my acoustic?

I know a ton of questions but this just really worries me... any thoughts?
If you don't plan on playing the electric then I'd just focus on the acoustic.
Quote by mrvile

This is UG, we love Schecters and Ibanez and Jacksons, we hate Deans and BCR's, we hate Marshall MG's, and everyone needs a new amp.
Play accoustic for a little longer. Once you finnally do switch to electric youll be in heaven . Playing is generally easier as it requires much less force to hold the notes down.

I strongly suggest starting abd getting good with accoustic. Once you fell your not improving as much as you were before get an electric.

Its really up to you but thats my 2 cents.
Gear:
Schecter c1+
Peavey Raptor exp

Vox ad30vt
play the one that you enjoy playing, if thats just one or the other, or both, go at it!

the more you play both, the more familiar you'll become with the guitar, permitting easier fretting, picking, etc etc.

in time your problems will go away