i know how to do pinch harmonics, but i just can't get the hang of them. does anyone have any tips on how to do them effectively. i'm a metal guitarist, and metal usually has a lot of pinch harmonics, so yeah, i'd be really grateful if someone can help me.
You know how to do them but can't get the hang of them? Could you explain what your problem is a little more clearly?
just find the sweet spot on your guitar

its not the same for all of em, depending on gain, pickup type/ placement, string size

just find a place around the pickups where you get nice, harmonics
Proud member of r0k 4 Chr15t club, PM T3hRav3n/christianbassis to join.

The Rig:
Dean Icon
Cimar strat-copy
Ibanez GRX-40
Dean Edge-1 Bass
Digitech RpX400
Peavey Rage 158

Creater of Tuba players united, pm to join.
Quote by icon_player_5
just find the sweet spot on your guitar

its not the same for all of em, depending on gain, pickup type/ placement, string size

just find a place around the pickups where you get nice, harmonics

It is at the same place on all guitars. The difference is that the hardware, which most people use for reference is at different spots. To find a sweet spot, just fret a note, and then hit a harmonic at a simple fraction (like 1/2, 1/3, 1/4) of the remaining string length. Gain will bring out these harmonics, making them more audible, but not changing where they happen. Pickups will do the same thing as gain. String gauge will make it easier/harder to hit harmonics, but they will still be in the same locations. You will need to move your picking hand to repeatedly get harmonics while playing different notes.
Quote by :-D
You know how to do them but can't get the hang of them? Could you explain what your problem is a little more clearly?