I'm just starting out to learn guitar and I'm new to this whole fourm thing. Other than my thread to say hi to everyone, this is my first real thread; so please be gentle. I'm eager to start playing, but since my guitar is previously used (or should I say abused) I figure the first thing I should do is get it into somewhat of a playing condition. So let me tell you what I'm up against and then I'll sit back and read your responses and suggestions.

My guitar is a Yamaha Pacifica 112. The strings are a little rusty, the bridge is not sitting flat (up about 15 degree) and the volume control (which I think is called a pot) keeps cutting out. I'm also not sure if the truss rod needs adjusting.

From what I've read on the fourm I think I need to put new strings on, clean the volume pot and tighten the tremlo springs (not sure about the truss rod). However, this is where I need help:

1. What is a good set of strings for a complete beginner?
2. How do I get to the tremlo springs to tighten them, and how much?
3. What is the best way to clean the volume pot?
4. How do I tell if the truss rod needs adjusting (is this something I can do)?
5. What else should I look for to get this thing sounding half decent?

I hope this guitar is OK to start to start learning on, since I'm on a tight buget and would not like to take it somewhere to get set-up and get hit with a big bill (if I can avoid it), I just want to start playing.
Last edited by Baloo at Feb 24, 2008,
1. Any .09 gauge set. You should start with a light gauge.
2. open up the trem cover on the back (it's plastic), and there should be some screws and springs. Tighten the screws, or maybe throw another spring back there (a buck or so).
3. Buy a new one. It's not hard to replace. You just need a soldering iron.
4. I've always been bad at this. I think if the neck has a bad bowing angle, it needs adjusting. Take it to a tech.