i just started playing and well basically everything is in a different language. a friend said if i learned songs at the same time as learning cords it would make things a tad bit easier. here is my confusion... what is up with the tabs how do i read them its all craziness to me right now...hopelessly lost in cali...
the number on the line is the fret you fret
E-------1--------
B-----------------
G-----------------
D-----------------
A-----------------
E-----------------

so you would put your finger on the first fret on the high e (which is the thinnest string)
You get nothing! You lose! Good day sir!
First off, welcome to the music scene. Learn at your own, comfortable pace. Tabs work like this:
bottom string------------->e--------------
2nd string from bottom-->B-------------
3rd string from bottom-->G--------------
3rd string from top------->D--------------
2nd string from top------> A-----4-5-4-- Each Numer represents the fret on that
Top string------------------>E --22-2-2-2- Certin String

If you see letters like p,h, or b dont worry. tabs usually have a key that tells you what they mean.

Hope this helps
Ibanez RGR420EX
B.C. Rich MockingBird w/ EMG 81/85

Peavey Valveking 212 Tube Combo

Electro harmonix Metal Muff
Electro harmonix Big Muff
Dunlop Cry Baby Wah
An easy beginner tab would be Smoke on the Water by Deep Purple.

E ---------------------------
B ---------------------------
G ---------------------------
D ---------------------------
A ---------------------------
e --0--3--5--0--3--6--5--

The lower case e stands for the low e string, which is the thickest. The next string down on the fretboard (but up in pitch) is A etc etc. You can remember the strings by the Acronym: Eddie Ate Dynamite Good Bye Eddie. The letter at the beginning of each word is the name of the string.